CITY OF WOLVERHAMPTON C O U N C I L

Meeting of the Council Minutes - 20 September 2023

Attendance

Mayor Deputy Mayor Cllr Dr Michael Hardacre (Lab) Cllr Linda Leach (Lab)

Labour

Cllr Qaiser Azeem Cllr Philip Bateman MBE Cllr Ciaran Brackenridge Cllr Greg Brackenridge Cllr Paula Brookfield Cllr Paula Brookfield Cllr Chris Burden Cllr Alan Butt Cllr Jenny Cockayne Cllr Jenny Cockayne Cllr Craig Collingswood Cllr Jacqui Coogan Cllr Lovinyer Daley Cllr Claire Darke Cllr Jasbinder Dehar Cllr Steve Evans

Conservative

Cllr Paul Appleby Cllr Simon Bennett Cllr Jonathan Crofts Cllr Wendy Dalton Cllr Christopher Haynes Cllr Stephanie Haynes

Employees

Tim Johnson David Pattison Emma Bennett Ian Fegan Charlotte Johns Richard Lawrence Cllr Val Evans Cllr Jane Francis Cllr Bhupinder Gakhal Cllr Sally Green Cllr Celia Hibbert Cllr Jeszemma Howl Cllr Carol Hyatt Cllr Jasbir Jaspal Cllr Jaspreet Jaspal Cllr Milkinderpal Jaspal Cllr Rashpal Kaur Cllr Lamina Lloyd Cllr Asha Mattu Cllr Barbara McGarrity QN Cllr Rohit Mistry Cllr Anwen Muston Cllr Rita Potter Cllr John Reynolds Cllr Susan Roberts MBE Cllr Zee Russell Cllr Stephen Simkins Cllr Harbinder Singh Cllr Tersaim Singh Cllr Paul Sweet Cllr Jacqueline Sweetman Cllr Iqra Tahir Cllr Gillian Wildman

Cllr Sohail Khan Cllr Bob Maddox Cllr Andrew McNeil Cllr Wendy Thompson Cllr Ellis Turrell

Chief Executive Chief Operating Officer Executive Director of Families Director of Communications and Visitor Experience Director of Strategy Director of Regeneration

Item No. Title

1 Apologies for absence

Apologies for absence were received from Councillor Obaida Ahmed, Councillor Mary Bateman, Councillor Louise Miles and Councillor Paul Singh.

2 **Declarations of interest**

There were no declarations of interest made.

3 **Conferring the Title of Honorary Alderman**

The Leader of the Council, Councillor Stephen Simkins presented the report on Conferring the Title of Honorary Alderman. He requested that pursuant to the powers contained in Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the Council confer the title of Honorary Alderman to former Councillors Phillip Page and Jonathan Yardley.

The Leader of the Council, Councillor Stephen Simkins added Mr Page had a total of 20 years' distinguished service. He had served the residents of Bilston North Ward but also held many important positions within the Council impacting on the lives of the citizens of our whole City. He was the Mayor of the City of Wolverhampton in 2018-2019 and served on many committees.

The Leader of the Council, Councillor Stephen Simkins proposed the recommendation, The Leader of the Opposition Group, Councillor Wendy Thompson seconded the recommendation. They paid tribute to the contribution of former Councillors Phillip Page and Jonathan Yardley.

The Leader of the Opposition Group, Councillor Wendy Thompson added Mr Yardley had a total of 20 years' distinguished service. He had served the residents of Tettenhall Regis Ward, but also held many important positions within the Council impacting on the lives of the citizens of our whole City and served on many committees.

Resolved:

That the title of Honorary Alderman be conferred on former Councillors Phillip Page and Jonathan Yardley.

The Mayor, on behalf of the City Council, presented Mr Phillip Page with a badge to commemorate his appointment. Honorary Alderman Phillip Page then gave an acceptance speech.

The Mayor, on behalf of the City Council, presented Mr Jonathan Yardley with a badge to commemorate his appointment. Honorary Alderman Jonathan Yardley then gave an acceptance speech.